What Andersonians Ought to Know About Their Local Government


Anderson County Quick Facts

  • There are 46 counties in South Carolina – Anderson County is the biggest in terms of land.
  • Its population is estimated to be 187,126.
  • Its county seat is the city of Anderson.
  • Its largest city is Anderson.
  • The County council is divided into seven districts.
    • District 1 North Anderson
    • District 2 South & East Anderson
    • District 3 Belton/Starr/Iva area
    • District 4:Pendleton area
    • District 5 West Anderson
    • District 6: Powdersville area
    • District 7: Williamston/Honea Path area

County Government

Council members are elected to their positions every two years and appoint an Administrator to oversee the progress and vision of the County. The 20 year vision statement can be found here. The council meets first & third Tuesdays of every month and the minutes and agenda are posted on the website. In order to get a clearer and more detailed picture of how the government in Anderson County runs please refer to the attached organizational chart.

Elected Officials

Francis Crowder, Sr., Republican – Council Member – District 1

326 Avenue of Oaks
Anderson, SC 29621
Cell: 864.958.1470
Email: district1@andersoncountysc.org, fmctech@charter.net

Gracie Floyd, Democrat – Council Member – District 2

1202 Ramona Drive
Belton, SC 29627
Phone: 864.226.3491

Eddie Moore, Republican – Vice-Chair – District 3

1311 Agnew Road
Starr, SC 29684
Phone: 352.6915
Email: district3@andersoncountysc.org

Tom Allen, Republican – Council Member – District 4

109 Wycombe Drive
Anderson, SC 29621
Phone: 864.964.9976
Email: district4@andersoncountysc.org, thomas9976@charter.net

Tommy Dunn, Republican – Council Member – District 6

131 Ming Lane
Anderson, SC 29625
Phone: 864.844.3765
Email: district5@andersoncountysc.org

Ken Waters, Republican – Council Member – District 6

1106 Stratford Court
Easley, SC   29642
Phone: 864.430.0123
Email: district6@andersoncountysc.org, kenwaters@bellsouth.net

M. Cindy Wilson, Republican – Council Member – District 7

129 Steeplechase
Belton, SC 29627
Phone: 864.261.3980
Email: district7@andersoncountysc.org

Rusty Burns – Interim County Administrator

PO Box 8002
Anderson, SC 29622
Phone: 864.260.4031

More information can be found on the government website which boasts the “Sunny Award” for transparency. Award winners are among 39 out of 5,000 government websites to earn an “A” as a transparency grade.

Leave a reply

Free Updates

Never miss a thing in Anderson!

We never share your email address.

What is AboutAnderson.com?


AboutAnderson.com – Everything in Anderson, SC right at your fingertips

Do you want a single source of information on everything related to Anderson, South Carolina right at your finger tips? Look no further. We’re putting together a fantastic resource for you that will satisfy your needs for everything about Anderson.